The AMERICAN ASSOCIATION of IMMUNOLOGISTS

President Linda A. Sherman, Ph.D.

Vice President
Dan R. Littman, M.D., Ph.D.

Past President
Marc K. Jenkins, Ph.D.

Secretary-Treasurer Mitchell Kronenberg, Ph.D.

Councillors
Arlene H. Sharpe, M.D., Ph.D.
Wayne M. Yokoyama, M.D.
JoAnne L. Flynn, Ph.D.
Jeremy M. Boss, Ph.D.

Executive Director M. Michele Hogan, Ph.D.

July 29, 2014

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman, Senate Committee on Homeland Security & Governmental Affairs 513 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Tom Coburn
Ranking Member, Senate Committee on
Homeland Security & Governmental Affairs
172 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Carper and Ranking Member Coburn:

I am writing on behalf of The American Association of Immunologists (AAI), the largest professional association of basic and clinical immunologists in the world. AAI is concerned that S. 1347, the *Conference Accountability Act of 2013* - despite improvements contained in the Coburn-Heitkamp substitute - would codify and potentially exacerbate the already negative impact of gns9st TJ19.7814 0 TD.0003 Tc.0011 Tw(stitutes is absolutely ess)Tj9.6011 0 TD.0008 Tc.00